Obama Campaign Leads Radio Mercury Awards


The Radio Mercury Awards are expanding their reach. As we roll into the seventeenth year of awards for outstanding radio creative, a new category is being added: The Marketer of the Year Award.

The nominees for this first year are quite the array: The Barack Obama 2008 Presidential Campaign, The Coca-Cola Company, GEICO, The Hershey’s Company, McDonald’s(R), Mercedes-Benz USA, LLC and Wal-Mart Stores Inc.

The winner will be announced at the upcoming 2009 Radio Mercury Awards on June 17 in New York City.

The Radio Broadcasting Report (RBR & TVBR) filed this report about the new award for radio Marketer of the Year:

“The award is designed to honor marketers for their strategic use of radio as a central component of an advertising campaign, and their bold and unconventional thinking that is helping to shape the future of radio advertising. These marketers were also recognized for campaigns that delivered on the brand message, capitalized on radio’s ability to reach both localized and national audiences and utilized radio as a multiplatform medium.”

It’s going to be a tight race, although I think the Obama Campaign may have an edge, especially after winning the critical acclaim for its overall marketing efforts at the Association of National Advertisers conference (ANA) I attended last August. Then again, since the Mercuries are purely radio awards, Obama’s competition may be stiffer in this arena.

Each of these contenders has engaged their audience through radio in groundbreaking and effective ways, something that will make for a hard decision on the part of Mr. Boyko and the other judges. See, or rather hear, for yourself — listen to all the Radio Mercury Award 2009 nominees and 2008 winners at RadioMercuryAwards.com.

As the only competition exclusively devoted to Radio, The Radio Mercury Awards (est. 1992) was created  to encourage and reward the development of effective and creative Radio commercials. The annual Radio Mercury Awards competition draws entries from advertising agencies, production houses, radio stations, and educational institutions across the country.

Approximately 16,000 commercials have competed for nearly $3 million in prizes. The Radio Creative Fund (RCF), a non-profit corporation funded by the Radio industry, governs the Radio Mercury Awards.

In 2008, the $100,000 Grand Prize was awarded to TBWA\Chiat\Day NY. Can you guess who will win Radio Marketer of the Year in New York City this June? Leave a comment with your best guess!

Photo courtesy of whoohoo120, used under its Creative Commons license


Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: